Monday the 13th

*dodges the black cat *

Alright everyone, it’s my 13th Monday Post. 

** Update: If you go to OneFresh this week, get a free drink when you say “this ain’t fast food.”  ** 

As usual, here’s what you might have missed from Last Monday:

I warned the masses about a email hoax

A pizza party that was broken up.

The temptation to go toe to toe with Madea

Finally, I made a stand against the Facebook 25. (which is NOT to be confused with the “Freshman 15” )

 

Friday Night was the start of the “Sleepout for the Homeless” event on campus. Every year, Phi Beta Sigma fraternity throws an event where a bunch of students brave the cold, donate non-perishable food and clothing to those less fortunate, and overall have a great time throughout the night.

Somehow… Every year, this event is held on one of the colder nights of the year. This year, no one seemed to mind that much. Everyone was jumping rope, and dancing, and just having an all-around good time.  I had originally planned that THIS was the year I was going to stay all night…

Yeah, I left at 2am. I actually ran into some Psiettes at the event, and I hung out with them for about an hour or so. 

Kollage Dance Troupe performed,  some spoken word, a performance by the Black Actors Guild.

Couple things I did notice while I was out there in the cold:

  • The only time a guy should dance to this song is… Never actually. 
  • That SOMEONE should get a good copy of this song. I’m tired of EVERYONE’s copy pausing at the SAME time.
  • When are the Practice sessions for all these dances? how is it that EVERYONE is dancing to these songs ??? 
  • Why are people running around on campus at night yelling about the Stimulus package??? 

All in all, this year’s event was one of the best I’ve been to. They served pizza this year (twice) and it just felt like better planning.

 

In other blog news, I’ve decided to shelf the Facebook status idea. It’s not as popular as I thought it would be.

I’ve also started playing Afro Samurai this weekend. Keep an eye out for my review. 

Valentine’s Day is coming this weekend. Do you have plans for your significant other?

flowers? candy? teddy bears?

What are your plans? I’d love to hear about them (within reason. I’m looking at you, CBK) 

My plans? I’ve got none. yup. none.

This year, Mrs. Blogmaster is in charge of the Hallmark Holiday. I’m taking a page out of Usher’s Book this year; (NSFW) besides, I need time to recharge my creative batteries.

I would also like to take this time to let everyone know (specifically men) that if you are planning to take this route use this gift, there are a few requirements:

  1. You discuss this IN ADVANCE with your significant other. It would be very embarrassing if you both had the thought that the OTHER had plans… 
  2. You actually did something significant for the first couple of Valentine’s Days. A card and/or a box of chocolate do NOT count as “significant”
  3. You come up with something phenomenal the following Valentine’s (or which ever you are next “responsible” for) 
  4. Even though I alluded to this in requirement 2, I am going to officially say it now: This canNOT be the FIRST valentine’s day you are celebrating with your significant other. 

The  opportunity gift of a “Sadie Hawkins Valentine’s Day” is a rare, and most precious  opportunity. DON’T try to over use it. Unless, your Significant Other doesn’t care about Valentine’s Day… in that case, you’re off the hook.

4 Responses to Monday the 13th

  1. mellownmighty says:

    It sucks that the status thing didn’t go over so well, and I’m glad that you had so much fun at Sleep Out for the Homeless.

    I also would like to know when dance practice is because I’m always wondering how on earth does everyone know this dance already. Sometimes it’s like watching synchronized seizures and I’m the only one that didn’t get the memo.

    And no comment to the Valentine’s Day stuff. Just have fun.

  2. dtownsend23 says:

    There were initially some funny ones, but I can do but so much stalking on my own. Maybe everyone is too busy working on their 25…

    what about the black cat? no comment for that either?

    Yeah, I had originally planned to do a whole post on the Sleep out, but I was so tired… I just threw it into Monday’s post.

  3. mellownmighty says:

    As much as I love that Black Cat, I thought you may have used Spaghetti Cat as your black cat.

    Yeah, my facebook hiatus kept me from sending you your dose of friendly foolywangery.

  4. dtownsend23 says:

    no worries about the Hiatus, i have to try things from time to time is all.

Leave a comment