Facebook 25

It’s been all over facebook for over a week now.

I’ve read a couple articles about this.

It’s time I address this new blast from the past. It seems like the new thing to do is to post 25 random facts about yourself and then tag 25 of your friends (1 of which has to be whoever tagged you to do this task). 

I’m not sure what to make of this new phenomenon honestly. I will admit that the random things people put are VERY entertaining. 

I gave this quite a bit of thought. When I saw the first couple lists pop up, I thought maybe I would give it a go. However, as more and more people started doing it, the more and more I decided.

I have personally decided that I will NOT be posting 25 random facts about myself. I have decided to take this stand because I don’t want to become another statistic. Also, I refuse to pick 25 people; Not to mention I’m obligated to tag everyone that’s already tagged me. (6 as of Sunday 9:30pm)

I will admit that these facts are entertaining at the very least. 

People admitting to loving certain smells (crayons, gasoline, heaters ??? ) 

People who are shopaholics (a few of those) 

People with multiple parents (literally, and figuratively) 

People even admitting to their deepest fears

People hiding cryptic (and sometimes not so cryptic) messages for specific people. (those are the most fun)

I sometimes wonder how much time people put into these lists. I’d imagine some people take a few minutes, some a few days… I actually heard read that one person took an entire WEEK to compile their list.

Why? 

Why are people so willing to provide the Internet with anywhere from the frivolously random, to the absolute soul-bearing? 

It’s not the anonymity, because usually most of your friends and schoolmates can read these.

Is it E-therapy? 

A fad?

Just for a laugh? Only time will tell. 

What about the people who DIDN’T get tagged by their friends? not gonna lie, a couple of my friends didn’t tag me in their lists, and for some reason, for 4 and 3/4 seconds (jump to about 2:40 into the video), I was jealous. I’m not sure though, it’s like I was left out of their life. One person told me they didn’t tag me because of all the mutual friends they tagged, I’d read it eventually (I’m looking at you Ms. Fish) 

What about you? do you think it’s a fad?  Have you done your 25 yet? feel free to post one or two of yours here. Just not all 25, please.  

 

** Seriously, I didn’t nor will I be making a 25 things to know about me, sorry **

6 Responses to Facebook 25

  1. bunni_ says:

    If i was going to do one i would tag you and one of my top 25 woould be..

    #__ : I try to read a certain persons blog everyday but if i dont i ALWAYS make sure i catch up and read everyone i missed because even thought he lives a whollleee country away, he is probably one of my best friends ever and it feels good to be able to get an inside look on what he does in his spare time 🙂

  2. mellownmighty says:

    I have been anti-25 Things from the jump, but a small part of me kinda wanted to post one. The only difference is that I would make it very vague and take all the fun out of people wanting to know all of my business. It takes a lot of the fun out of deep conversation and really getting to know people.

    Besides, do I really want anyone knowing about my fears, odd quirks, or the wonderful randomness that is me without talking to me? Or do I really want to say anything that might be used against me later or even to discover the secret question to get into my bank account? I don’t think so.

  3. dtownsend23 says:

    Aww, Thanks bunni, I feel special :).

    but you’re right MnM, why give out so much information about yourself???

    I had a talk with a fish last night, and she said that If she has to make a list like this for you, then you truly don’t know her as a person.

    Such a wise fish that #8… too bad her concept of “traffic situations” are so skewed…

  4. mellownmighty says:

    Hi five that fish for me, please because she hit it right on the head.

  5. dtownsend23 says:

    she sure did… *snickers*

  6. […] Lately there is a trend of people tagging their friends on their notes about “25 Random Things About Me” I’ve been tagged on a few occasions and I still haven’t done this 25 […]

Leave a comment