Motivate, Educate, Elevate

Wow, has it really been that long ???

I know you all miss me, and that’s OK, because I missed you guys too.

It’s been a busy two weeks, with wrapping up the Miami trip, and working on a few side projects I haven’t had time to really sit down and give my blog the attention it deserves. I’m not all the way back up to speed yet; I’m in the process of working on some articles for Platform Nation, and fixing a few computers… so give me a few weeks, and I will be all yours again. I promise.

I will talk about this one thing that bothered me last weekend.

I happened to make my way out to the N. Florida Fairgrounds for the back to school drive that was happening out there. I was checking out all the booths and there was one that especially caught my eye.

There was a row of inflatables and there was one that was an obstacle course. There were a bunch of kids lined up and running sprinting flying through these courses. However, these children are not the focus of today’s concern watch.

No, today it is the PARENTS of these children who get my side-eye. For some reason, these parents were under the impression this was the NFL combine. Now, i am all for some friendly competition, but those parents were on another level. It was like the parents were trying to relive their “glory days” through their kids, or worse, turn them into a meal ticket.

These parents were giving tips, shouting, yelling, threatening to not speak to them, and all sorts of things. It only got worse if the child lost; they instantly disowned their kids. Especially if a boy lost to a girl; I saw GROWN men who threatened boys to not lose to girls… I understand the mentality, but there are some fast girls out there, what can you do ? *snickers*

From what I saw, there was NO prizes being given to the winner, no trophies, no promise of a College Scholarship NFL contract or endorsement deal. It was just regular fun. I won’t lie, there were some FAST kids out there, but that doesn’t justify the behavior of the parents. Sometimes, parents have to let the kids have “fun”.

Motivate, Educate, and Elevate… I actually agree with him. Everyone is NOT going to get a contract/endorsement deal to play for your favorite professional team… SOMEONE has to record the game, SOMEONE has to be the doctor for the team, SOMEONE has to be the lawyer for the team to keep the players out of legal issues…

*Thanks to Princess Banana for the link !!!*

I was also concerned because there were parents out there who didn’t practice wisdom; if your child is of a certain height, weight, or size that doesn’t seem “appropriate” for the obstacle course… be a PARENT and let them know it isn’t for them. I cannot tell you how many times I saw children too big for the course struggle to get through the starting hole, or climb up the hills. Then there were the children too small to climb into the hole and were “boosted” in by their parents… THEN there were the kids who were too young, and started crying when they couldn’t overcome the obstacle.  Then to make matters worse, there were parents who tried to force their kids into finishing the course regardless of the tears or physical incapability.

— OK, I need to stop now… I already see where this is going. All I will say is this: There is nothing wrong with wanting to motivate your children for greatness, there is something wrong with pushing them for your own personal gain (Yes, I AM looking at you Mr. Jackson)

Leave a Reply

