Area unlocked: Jacksonville, FL

This post has been a long time coming.

During the middle of last week, I took a trip to Jacksonville, FL

Why ? to see what it was like out there. Well, I went looking for RIBS also…

Seriously, at some point in the near future I we shall be leaving the land of the ‘Noles (and Rattlers) to “seek out new life and new civilizations” (give yourself 5 points if you get the reference) Star Trek

I decided since I had some newly acquired spare time, I would go ahead and check out this place to see what all the fuss was about.

When I actually got there the weather was pretty bad, so I ended up staying in my hotel room the whole night watching the Playoffs. I did manage to sneak out and get some pizza from a place I heard about from my Tour Guide 🙂

The next day, I actually went  out and did some Sight Seeing. I went to a Museum, and took pictures of the wildlife and other. I went ahead and added a photo gallery of all the good shots I took around town. there are mini stories with some of them when you click that specific picture. Enjoy.

I thought I was going to have a drama free trip, but I was wrong. As I walked to the Rib place with my tour guide (who is white, not that it matters to me, but is vital for the story) there was a group of people eating outside of a restaurant and decided to yell “Thank God for Obama” as we walked by. I wasn’t aware ignorance was still alive in the south =/ in Florida no less. When I think “Racist South” Florida doesn’t sit at the top of my list, but that’s just me. This guy disagrees.  (please don’t be offended by the “Racist South link… I couldn’t resist)

My tour guide thinks it was coincidental that the man yelled that as we walked past… but I know better. When your birthday is the Day after Malcolm X’s and the day Florida celebrates “Emancipation Day” your “Racial Senses” tend to tingle more than others…

There is Racism afoot !!!

There is Racism afoot !!!

Finally, I would like to say that I am aware that I did not cover all of Jacksonville. It took close to 3o minutes to get anywhere, and I only had one day to check the city out; but from what I saw, It was nice. Nice enough to maybe move out there; naturally that depends on the economy and job market and all those other important adult things… I think I might need to do a couple more of these “discovery trips” to check out the rest of the state. Any suggestions on where I should visit next?

A special thanks to my Tour Guide for showing me the sights and sounds of Jacksonville. Your services maybe needed on a later date 🙂

** The views expressed in this blog are those solely of the author and no one else. I will not claim to speak for anyone other than myself. Even if I may point out general trends, but they are by no means the standard. That is all. **

2 Responses to Area unlocked: Jacksonville, FL

  1. DanceHall Queen says:

    hmm Gainesville is on the top 20 racist cities list…lol another reason why Florida State is so much better…sorry gators 😉

  2. wsmw85 says:

    I am not surprised. I am from Jacksonville, Fl and I consider the city very “black and white”. The first time I was really exposed to other cultures was when I attended school in Tallahassee. Jacksonville is starting to become more culturally diverse but it will take time. The racial tension is a little high in Jacksonville because a lot of black families in Jacksonville come from small cities in Georgia, including my own family. Integration was not easily accepted in those smaller cities. This only led to more racial insensitivity, which carried over into Jacksonville. Jacksonville is a little behind in the times, but it is catching up.

Leave a Reply

