Black Power = Black Privilege ???

I planned on talking about Black History Month mainly because someone on Facebook brought up the interesting question on McDonald’s motives with discussing “365 Black” only in February… so here we go. 

So tending to 2 sick women (Ms. Blogmaster and Salt), the question was raised (by Salt’s white boyfriend who’s doing an anthropology paper) on the Privilege of Black people.  This on the twilight of Black History Month no less.

So we got the thinking.

and did some more thinking…

I even went so far as to ask four black people online. 

I mean sure, we heard things like “more financial aid”, “genetically more athletic”, even “Free use of the ‘N’ Word”. 

The problem is, no one had a real answer. NO one could answer the question. In the age of America finally getting a black president, and Black Coaches winning Super Bowls… We as a people still have no privileges. 

Think about this for a moment: What IS privilege? 

Dictionary.com says it’s: 

  • a right, immunity, or benefit enjoyed only by a person beyond the advantages of most
  • a special right, immunity, or exemption granted to persons in authority or office to free them from certain obligations or liabilities

and the list goes on.  Pretty much nothing that Wii we as a people can claim.

I did a little research to see what others had to say about this topic.

One author actually made a list of “Privileges” that black men seem to have. Personally, I’m skeptical about this list as it seems to have a pretty underhanded tone. It’s mildly NSFW. 

I want you to take the rest of this Black History Month to really marinate meditate on this topic. Let’s discuss it here. 

Is there a “Real” Privilege to being black ?

4 Responses to Black Power = Black Privilege ???

  1. Jesse R. says:

    I’m not sure I understand the question. What’s a privilege other ethnic groups have?

    • dtownsend23 says:

      If you have more than one, you can list them.
      That’s what I’m looking for; privileges of being “black”. I could turn around and ask this question of just about any race… but it’s Black History Month According to McDonald’s

  2. Brandon V. says:

    As a Black man, i don’t really think we have any extra benefits. In fact, it came up at work one day and my homegirl/coworker made an excellent statement. She said “You can take a bummy looking, uneducated white man, clean him up, put him in a suit, and he still has a better chance at success than the brother with the suit and the college degree.” and I couldn’t help but agree. Minorities have to fight nearly twice as hard to succeed. I don’t think race or skin color award us anything extra in life.

  3. The Judernaut says:

    Firstly I thought it was about equality these days? And what about Affirmative Action. I know it doesn’t just cater to Black people, but you could reap from that a lot easier than I can. You’ve got the NAACP. But most importantly, you have the privilege to have something like BET. Could you imagine the uproar if I created a Television Network called White Entertainment Television, or had a scholarship contest for young white girls called Miss White America.
    I understand that there have been centuries of discrimination and it still happens today. I understand there are more advantages to being white, but there are also advantages to being a minority in this country too (the BET thing was mostly a joke). Do you know how hard it is for me to get financial aid?
    If you’re reading this and don’t know me, I am the furthest thing from racist, I dont want anybody to be held back in society for any reason, whether it be race, gender, sexuality, or religion. But what logical way is there to fix it when there are so many close minded people.

Leave a Reply

