Holiday Matrix

I think some one has been slipping me the Red pill in my Egg Nog for a  few years now… because I think I’ve discovered something crazy. The Holidays aren’t as “magical” as we all grew up thinking them to be.

When you were younger, you would wake up rush downstairs (or down the hall) to the living room where your parents would have created a winter wonderland with a trimmed tree , and Christmas stockings over the fireplace (if you had one of those), some breakfast ready, presents under the tree, and a host of other things reminding you that “today” is in fact Christmas.

As you started to wade out deeper in the pool of life and hit the Adolescence section (now equipped with hoop and water guns) for some reason (depending on your economic status) Christmas starts losing it’s “coolness” factor; mainly because your relatives still think it’s cool to get you socks =/

As you start heading towards the deep end (adulthood) and you go out on your own, it hits you: the smoke and mirrors all fail and you realize that the “Essence of Christmas” is dependant on your family… 

Please keep in mind I am NOT talking about the “meaning” of Christmas, that never changes, I’m talking about the “flashing lights” that surround the holiday. The “Spirit of Cheer” if you will 

I haven’t been back to my Parents house for Christmas in YEARS. not necessarily because I don’t want to, but because now that I’m on my own, I have to work to pay bills and all that good stuff; since I’m still in college (Spring ’09 Graduation !!!) my options in the workforce are still somewhat limited so I have to work where I can.

Ask anyone that spends Christmas “Alone” or “Without their families” they usually complain about how much fun they didn’t have.

On the flip side, I’m noticing a new trend where college students are bored @ home with their families. I’ve even heard a few people say they can’t wait to get back to school; the very same school they tried to escape first chance they got.

Back when we played in the shallow end of the “pool of life” when we got back to school from Winter Break, you couldn’t wait to tell your friends all the cool things you got for Christmas. Now, you can’t wait to tell your friends how bored you were at home. Where’s the magic? where are the Christmases of our youth?

I am convinced that with a lack of Money Family, Christmas isn’t what it used to be. It’s like Santa lost his swag… 

or did Santa get hit by the recession? 

Wait, is there even a Santa ??? 

 

Here’s what I think is going on:

I think that “Adults” are given a chart. 

On this chart it measures out how much money spent on Christmas Quality is supposed to go down as the child gets older (unless you’re rich, then it goes in the opposite direction)

On this chart, there’s a red star, which is the estimated age where you start giving your child the red pill in their Egg Nog. I haven’t figured out that age yet… 

What I also don’t understand is why we keep it going. When we become “Adults” and start having our own offspring, it’s like we try to recreate the Christmas Magic that we lost many years ago… only to have it taper off on our children as they get older, only continuing a vicious circle of false hope, and broken dreams. </mild sarcasm>

What do you think? Do you think there’s an age where we realize the Christmas magic is smoke and mirrors? What was it like when you first woke up to the Christmas truth?

3 Responses to Holiday Matrix

  1. MellownMighty says:

    Christmas, like birthdays, just become another day for most people when they get older. Unfortunately, responsibility becomes more important than having fun as you get older and then you have to make time in your schedule for fun. That’s life, though.

  2. LoRap says:

    it’s uncanny how appropriate this issue is… this year is my first that i’ve spent december 24th despirately and ferociously performing CPR on my long since cold and rigored christmas spirit… tilt the chin up… wishing i could find my desire to leave out cookies that i know my mother’s fantasy-promoting heart will inspire her to eat… she still signs my presents -santa… there’s no fog on this mirror… as we grow older the desensitizing nature of self-sufficient life abuses the place in our soul where magic lives to a place that the presence of family cannot repair… i vow to spend the rest of my adult life resisting cynicism… join the cause…

  3. dtownsend23 says:

    You have a good point Mellow… DOWN with responsibility !!!

    LoRap, I just join your cause… there is still hope and goodwill out there.

Leave a Reply

