I promise to love which half?

“if you getting married to someone, you’d better make sure they’re paraplegic…
I was going to say “dead” but that’s just creepy”
– sneaker king

I know, you’re probably read that quote twice and scratched your head, but hear me out.

As many of you remember, we had a great debate on the rules of engagement (from now on, links open on another page, so as to not interrupt your reading) 

Now, as I’ve said before, I’m not here to overthrow tradition, just to let you think about a few things.

What does a wedding cost now a days?
A lot.

Personally, the soon to be engaged and I have agreed to spend about a certain amount on our wedding, and we’re pretty broke…

As a few co-workers friends and I discussed this topic, the top quote was made. 

Truer words never spoken.

With the Divorce rate as high as it is, and the Economy as low as it is, you have to ask; why are we spending so much on weddings?

Honestly, who are these weddings for?

I submit that these weddings aren’t really “couple affairs” but they are for The bride, and the spectators.  

I mean, WHY are we spending so much on an event that lasts a few hours, and (depending on the involved parties) may end up costing twice as much in divorce fees? 

Am I against weddings? No, not at all. I think the symbolism behind the wedding itself is an amazing thing between 2 people and their closest friends and families. 

Now, the “extra” that goes into these events… it’s a slight put-off.

why spend approximately $29k when you can maybe spend half of that, and use the rest on either the Honeymoon (which is for BOTH the Husband and Wife) or even their house (which is towards their future) or better yet, use some of that money, and pay back some of those Student Loans

Once again, please do not take this post as an “anti-wedding” attack. All I am saying is maybe we can be a little wiser with our money, especially now that we are “Officially” in a recession. 

Thoughts? Comments? let me hear them 🙂

** UPDATE **

So, I found this in my Email this morning, I’ll take this as a reminder that there is hope.

3 Responses to I promise to love which half?

  1. MellownMighty says:

    *high five to this post*

    I have always felt that weddings are nice but they don’t need all the frills and froo-froo crap that comes with it.

    Ok, I’m very non-traditional when it comes to weddings but I always say two things regarding marriage: 1)Make sure you’re doing it for the right reasons and 2)Be happy about the marriage, not that extra stuff. Not to offend anybody who wants to drop $40,000 on a wedding (If you can do that, more power to you. No hate here.) but I feel that you want to start off life together building on that foundation of love that brought you together, not digging each other out of the trenches of debt.

    My honest opinion: You don’t need an engagement ring; you can put that money towards a house. But if you want to give her one, you don’t have to go all out. There are so many ways to keep costs down without being tacky, you just have to do you/y’all and have fun with it.

    *forgive the mini-blog but I have a hard time not voicing my opinion about stuff like this*

  2. dtownsend23 says:

    Lol, no worries, all I ask for is the honest opinion of my readers.

  3. weakvsfire says:

    Word
    just give me the paper that says
    i’m married and i’m good

Leave a Reply

